

A.C.T. BASKETBALL INC. (T/A BASKETBALL ACT)

Annual General Meeting MINUTES

Date: 27 February 2024 Time: 7:00pm

Venue: Canberra Southern Cross Club

Ordinary Business

1. Welcome and Call to Order

The President of Basketball ACT, Allan Yates Chaired and Opened the meeting at 7:23pm.

2. Roll Call and Apologies

Clubs and Members in Attendance

Wayne Lacey Ginninderra Rats Basketball Club (MS Teams)

Phil Turner Gungahlin Flames Basketball Club
Jonathan Wheeler Gungahlin Flames Basketball Club
Mel Berg Marist College Basketball Club

Claire Gallon Norths Basketball Club
Tony Cotton Norths Basketball Club

Shannon White Queanbeyan Basketball Club (MS Teams)

Ryan Kinnane Radford Basketball Club

Karen Ayers Tuggeranong Southern Cross Basketball Club

Peter Harris Warriors Basketball Club
Bruce Minerds Warriors Basketball Club
Lyn Minerds Warriors Basketball Club
Warriors Basketball Club

Grant Keys Weston Creek Woden Dodgers

Jackie Smith Wests Basketball Club

Susan Lalor Alexandra Smith Anthony Jennings

BACT Board in Attendance

Alan Yates BACT President Michelle Hocking BACT Vice President

Nathan Vavic BACT Director Nick Janssen BACT Director

BACT Staff in Attendance

Nicole Bowles; Chief Executive Officer Josh O'Brien; Chief Operating Officer

Apologies

Ramblers St Edmunds College Canberra City Stallions Basketball Club Erindale College

Merici College Daramalan College Allan Roberts, Life Member Roz Roberts, Life Member Phil Kelley, Life Member Peter Basket, Life Member

3. Minutes from previous Annual General Meeting

Minutes from the previous Annual General Meeting held on the 28 February 2023 were accepted as a true and accurate representation and approved.

Moved: Clare Gallon Seconded: Bruce Minerds

4. Presidents Report

The President tabled the Presidents Report as outlined in the Annual Report and highlighted the key outcomes of the organisation as at, 30 September 2023.

The President thanked the outgoing BACT Directors

Thanked everyone for the past 6 years while in the position of President. Acknowledged the time and effort that Clubs and their Committees put into the sport.

Moved: Sue Lalor Seconded: Grant Keys

5. CEO Report

The Chief Executive Officer tabled the CEO Report as outlined in the Annual Report and highlighted the key outcomes of the organisation as at, 30 September 2023.

Moved: Mel Berg Seconded: Bruce Minerds

6. Elections

The Nominations Committee Report was tabled with the meeting papers and highlighted the key areas of the report.

One nomination was received for the available President position for a period of two years. Two nominations were received for the two available Director positions for a period of two years. All applications were received in line with the Basketball ACT Constitution.

By show of hands Michelle Hocking was elected as President of Basketball ACT and Alexandra Smith and Anthony Jennings were elected as Directors of Basketball ACT.

Following the election Michelle Hocking assumed the role of Chair for the remainder of the meeting. Alan Yates was thanked for his contribution as President of Basketball ACT and for his continued support to the organisation.

7. Treasurers Report and presentation if the Finance Report

a. Treasurer's Report

Nathan Vavic, as a member of the FARM Committee, tabled the Treasurer's Report as outlined in the Annual Report and highlighted the key financial outcomes and drivers for the organisation.

b. Presentation of the Audited Statement of the Association's accounts and the Auditor's Report

Members were presented with the Audited Statement of the Association. Nathan Vavic highlighted the Audited Statements presented a true and accurate record.

Moved: Clare Gallon Seconded: Grant Keys

8. Appointment of the Auditor

The President put forward to the meeting a recommendation for PFK Canberra to be appointed as the Auditors from the coming year.

Moved: Mel Berg Seconded: Bruce Minerds

CARRIED BY ALL

9. General Business

a. Life Membership

The Basketball ACT Awards and Honours Committee Chair — Bridget Tilley noted the endorsement of one nomination for Life Membership received by the Board and put forward a recommendation for Christine Higgerson to be voted in as a Life Member of Basketball ACT.

Bruce Minders – Endorsed Allan Yates – Endorsed Kelly Grandin - Endorsed

By Show of Hands CARRIED BY ALL

b. Other Awards

The following awards were reviewed by the Honours and Awards Committee. Congratulations and recognition to the following players and referee for their outstanding service to Basketball ACT.

Outstanding Service Award – Sean Bradbury
Outstanding Service Award – Darren Stephenson

Merit Awards

Madilyn Janssen: Australian Pearls – Player – 2023 Virtus Global Games Jasmin Funnell: Australian Pearls – Player – 2023 Virtus Global Games Justin Koenig: Australian Boomerangs – Player – 2023 Virtus Global Games

Alex Toohey: Australian Boomers, Sydney Kings

Sarah Gersbach: Australian Special Olympics Team - Coach Jack Taylor: NBL1 National Finals, WNBL, NBL - Referee

Sharna Edwards: 2023 Asia Cup – Scoretable

Annette Anderson: 2023 Asia Cup - Scoretable

Susanne Hellson: 2023 Asia Cup - Stats

Zara Russell: Australian U17s – Player – FIBA U17 Oceania Champs

Ajak Nyuon: Australian U17s - Player Jontee Brown: Australian Rollers Squad

Bul Kol: Cairns Taipans

Issie Bourne: Adeliade Lighting Lizzie Tonks: Adeliade Lighting Chloe Tugliach: UC Capitals Abby Solway: UC Capitals

Natalie Hurst: Adelaide Lighting

No questions were noted from the floor.

Bruce Minerds recognised Alan Yates for his contribution to basketball in the ACT over many years and thanked him for his service.

As there was no further business the President closed the meeting at 7:50pm

Next AGM 25 February 2025